Proposals for new clinical commissioning groups for Tees Valley and Durham CCGs

We helped to consult members of the public on proposals to merge five local Clinical Commissioning Groups into two.
Group of people share their thoughts


In 2018, NHS England and NHS Improvement told Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGS) that they would be reducing their administration costs by 20% by 31 March 2020. In turn, they asked all CCGs to reduce their own running costs by 20% in the same timescale.

As a result, proposals were outlined to merge five CCGs into two.

The County Durham and Tees Valley CCGs approached Healthwatch to help gather the views of local people during July 2019. These views will be taken into account and presented to the five CCG Governing Bodies to help them decide on a proposal to create a new CCG/s.

The local Healthwatch organisations involved in this engagement include:

  • Healthwatch County Durham​​​​​​
  • Healthwatch Darlington
  • Healthwatch Hartlepool
  • Healthwatch Middlesbrough
  • Healthwatch Redcar and Cleveland
  • Healthwatch Stockton

The five CCGs include:

  • NHS Darlington CCG
  • NHS Durham Dales, Easington and Sedgefield CCG
  • NHS Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees CCG
  • NHS North Durham CCG
  • NHS South Tees CCG

This report contains information on the current arrangements, the merger proposals, and feedback from respondents across the region.


If you need this report in a different format, please get in touch: 

0800 118 1691

Proposals for new clinical commissioning groups for Tees Valley and Durham CCGs

Share your thoughts

You can help make health and care services better by sharing your experiences and ideas.

Talk to us